Skills for Care

The Manager Induction Standards (MIS) set out what a manager needs to know and understand to perform well in their role.

The 11 standards of the MIS are consistent with the 11 units within the Level 4 Certificate in Principles of Leadership and Management in Adult Care and the Level 5 Diploma in Leadership and Management for Adult Care.

Aimed at

  • new managers - those new to management and those new in post who have previously managed other care services.
  • existing managers - to use as a benchmark of their own practice and potential learning and development needs, especially if their role has changed over the years.
  • aspiring managers - to plan an appropriate development programme, increase their understanding of the expectations of a manager role and increase their potential of securing management positions in the future.
PDF - 212Kb
Social care (adults) England Manager Induction Standards 2016 reviewed edition


The standards

  1. Leadership and management
  2. Governance and regulatory processes
  3. Communication
  4. Relationships and partnership working
  5. Person-centred practice for positive outcomes
  6. Professional development, supervision and performance management
  7. Resources
  8. Safeguarding, protection and risk
  9. Manage self
  10. Decision making
  11. Entrepreneurial skills and innovation

Resources to support the MIS

Digital learning for managers